thinking out loud

…things that are on my mind, heart, and soul

Spring

It is a glorious spring day in Pittsburgh. I am loving it and trying my best to take it all in. One of the things I am doing to celebrate the day is listening to some great “spring” music. Jon Foreman, lead singer of Switchfoot, has released a series of EP’s based upon the four seasons and today I downloaded, “Spring.” These EP’s are unlike anything you have heard from Switchfoot. They are acoustically based and formated songs with simple instrumentation and vocals.

Spring includes these six tracks:

  • March
  • Love Isn’t Made
  • In My Arms
  • Baptize My Mind
  • Your Love Is Strong
  • Revenge

My favorite is “Your Love is Strong” which is Jon’s take on the Lord’s Prayer and Psalm 62:11-12 (“One thing God has spoken, two things have I heard: that you, O God, are strong and that you, O Lord, are loving…”):

Heavenly Father
You always amaze me
Let your kingdom come
In my world and in my life
You give me the food I need
To live through the day
And forgive me as I forgive
The people that wronged me
Lead me far from temptation
Deliver me from the evil one

I look out the window
The birds are composing
Not a note is out of tune
Or out of place
I look at the meadow
And stare at the flowers
Better dressed than any girl
On her wedding day

So why do I worry?
Why do I freak out?
God knows what I need
You know what I need

Your love is
Your love is
Your love is strong.

So, what are you dong on this spring day?

Stay connected…

Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

have the peace that passes understanding at the heart of yourself, but do not be at peace with the world. for the world is more malleable than we think and we must wrestle it from fools. (bono)
